News Update 23rd November

Diocese-of-ChelmsfordSt Mary’s News Update 23rd November

Ministry & Mission Units (MMUs)

Within the coming year we will be working with a larger group of parishes than we are currently. These will be known as MMUs. We have the opportunity to apply for funding for someone to help with our mission – for example this might be a youth or families worker. We would really like to hear your thoughts on what would be most appropriate for our need. Please write your suggestions on the list in church by 13 December.

Upcoming Events

Routine events

  • Tues 24 Nov – 8pm Michael’s Home Group at Dorothy & Richard’s House
  • Thurs 26 Nov – 9am Coffee morning
  • Sun 29 Nov – 9.30am Communion, St Mary’s, Langham
  • Sun 29 Nov – 11.15am Joint service at All Saints Church, Great Horkesley (no service @ St Mary’s)
  • Thurs 3 Dec – 9am Coffee morning; 10am Rachel’s home group; 2.30pm 5Ts
  • Sun 6 Dec – 9.30am Holy Communion
  • Sun 6 Dec – 9.30am Communion, St Peter’s, Boxted
  • Sun 6 Dec – 11.15am Morning Praise, St John’s, Great Horkesley

Sunday Bible Readings

  • Sun 29 Nov – Mark 13:24-37 – Signs of the end of the age
  • Sun 6 Dec – Luke 3:1-6 – John the Baptist prepares the way for Jesus

Christmas Coffee Morning

Taking place on Sat 28 Nov, West Bergholt Methodist Church – 10am-12 midday.  Stalls, coffee and mince pies.

Joint Service and Christmas Tree Festival

Great Horkesley will be holding their Christmas Tree Festival over the weekend of 28 & 29 November at All Saints Church. The church will be open to visit the displays on Sat 11am – 4pm and Sun 1pm – 4pm. All Saints will also be hosting our 5th Sunday united service at 11.15am on Sun 29th November.

Christmas Choir

Next Christmas Choir Rehearsals – 29th November @ 10am & 6 Dec @ 10.45am

Christmas Tree Festival, St Mary’s West Bergholt

The pupils from Heathlands School will be decorating Christmas trees with gifts for the night shelter and the trees will be on display in the church between 3pm-4pm on Friday 11 December, and again on Saturday 12 December (times to be confirmed).

Dates for your diary

  • Fri 11 Dec – 7.45pm Wired Christmas Party
  • Sun 13 Dec – 9.30am Messy Church
  • Sun 20 Dec – 2.30pm Carol Service at the Old Church
  • Christmas Eve – 3pm Crib Service; 6.45pm Carol Service; 11.30pm Midnight Communion at All Saints, Great Horkesley
  • Christmas Day – 9.30am Family Christmas Service
  • Senior Citizens Lunch – Sat 16 January